My Chai Tea Latte

Ever since my niece started to update her Facebook statuses continually with “drinking ‘Chai Tea Latte’ at Starbucks”, I got curious about it. Of course, as if it’s meant to be, there’s no Starbucks in Rotterdam and even if there was one I’m not sure if I’d be willing to pay €4, -something- just for tea. Or €3,-? I’ve no idea what the price for ‘Chai Tea Latte’ is at Starbucks, but since I am familiar with the amount they ask for coffee and frappuccino I suppose it to be too expensive anyway. Luckily we have another shop here that has not necessarily everything you need, but at least everything I want, except for clothes, and there I managed to find tea bags of ‘chai tea’! Not that I was searching for them, honestly. It was cheap and for sale, so with my niece’s Facebook statuses in mind, how I could I resist buying them?
Dutch people, visit the Xenos! They have everything, it’s cheap and their stuff makes you (me) happy!

Ingredients:

  • 250 ml Boiling hot water
  • One tea bag of chai tea
  • A dash of (soy) milk)
  • A teaspoon of honey

Directions:

  • Bring water to boil in a kettle and pour it in a mug
  • Put the tea bag in it and leave it for as long as you’d like
  • Add the (soy) milk and the honey
  • Stir

To be honest no matter how addicted I’m becoming to this tea, I think my favorite one is still açai green tea. I’m sorry chai tea latte, you’ve lost this battle.

6 thoughts on “My Chai Tea Latte

  1. You’re kidding right?

    “Chai, pronounced with a long “i” as in the word tie, is the actual word for tea in many countries. Chai tea is quickly becoming extremely popular in the West as people are becoming exposed to it as lattes in coffee and tea houses.
    Chai tea is a rich and complex beverage that has been savored for centuries in many parts of the world, especially India.
    In its most basic form, chai is black tea that is brewed strong with a combination of spices and is diluted with milk and sugar.
    The spices vary from recipe to recipe, but usually consist of cinnamon, cardamom, cloves, pepper and ginger. Chai tea is traditionally consumed hot and sweet. The sweetness is needed to bring out the full flavors of the spices.”
    Source: http://www.2basnob.com/chai-tea.html

    Latte means milk, so I guess you now understand what ‘Chai Tea Latte’ is :)

  2. Ridiculous, I know that Chai = tea, I drink 2 litres of it everyday. But why is something called Chai tea latte. What they are saying is ‘tea tea latte’.
    So basically what they are having is just what we call tea.
    Why do they have to make everything so exotic? Utter pillocks trying to imitate something and not doing it well.
    Now i am pretty cheesed off.

  3. Haha, I knew that you knew that :P, but not everyone knows and for those who don’t know it sounds pretty fancy, so I don’t think you can really blame them for it. But there are different kinds of tea right? This isn’t our regular black tea, but this ‘chai tea’ contains besides the black tea also cinnamon and other kinds of herbs and therefore we give it a different name, while in India the ‘chai tea’ ís the regular kind of tea?
    It’s the same as when you go to a Dutch restaurant and you ask for tea, you get black tea, and only if you ask for green tea they’ll serve you green tea. But if you go to a Chinese restaurant and you ask for tea, you’ll get green tea, because for them that’s the ‘regular’ kind.

    No need to be cheesed off; it’s just people outside of India trying to try out their tea. Who cares about the naming anyway? :P

  4. I have to warn you though that you might have to search for it (except for when visiting a coffee or tea house, I suppose those to have it on their menu), because the ‘regular’ restaurants, bars and cafes have only black tea and, not even all of them, have green tea.
    Though with Starbucks you’re pretty much safe.

Leave a Reply

