Home is where the heart is

Even though my university is pretty far from where I live, I still live with my parents. This means I have to travel about three hours every day to get to school, so getting up 5.45am if I have class at 8.30am isn’t unusual for me anymore. I have thought about moving out, but because I’m still busy with driving lessons in my hometown that isn’t possible at the moment. But hey, I won’t be learning how to drive forever, right? So as soon as I have my driving license I can move out…
Which is what I’m planning to do! Sometimes I just too excited to move out, I can’t wait! Especially when I’m staying with a friend for a night, who does live near our university, I notice how convenient it is to live near the university. Of course there are also downsides, like having to clean your room yourself etc., but when looking at the whole package I think it would be easy to conclude that moving out would be a better choice than staying with my parents.

You know what, let’s just make a list of the pros and cons. Just for fun, because I’ve actually already made up my mind.
Pros moving out:

  •  Less travel time to university, which means:
    – I’m able to sleep more, so I’m less tired than I am now these days and I can pay more attention in class and be more concentrated in general;
    – I’ll be less dependent on public transport; it makes it easier to stay longer at a place if you don’t have to worry about catching the train on time, and having to wait for it half and hour when you’ve just missed it, is NOT fun
  • Freedom! Independence! There’s no need to explain this one, I believe? (I will anyway, because I want to. HA!). Not having to explain every single action, not being obliged to justify myself if I want to go out (with this I don’t mean a party, but just walking outside without a goal, without people interrogating me if I’m going to visit my secret boyfriend, is satisfying enough for me),  etc. etc. etc.
    It’s like what I told my friend one day when I was staying with her for the night again. ‘When I’m staying with you, it feels like I’m alive’. This might sound rude towards my parents, but that’s how it felt.

Cons moving out:

  •  It costs a whole lot of money. I still have to figure out how much my financial support from the government will be when I move out and if I have to get a job to be able to pay for the mandatory costs. Probably it won’t be necessary to get a job, because my parents have told me they’re willing to support me, but that only goes to a certain level. When estimating my income I do believe that if I want to do anything extra (you know, fun stuff :P) I will have to get a job;
  • It might be lonely. I’ll probably miss my parents and brothers who I’m so used to seeing everyday. At the moment I just can’t imagine how it would be, coming home to a place knowing I won’t see them the rest of the week. Luckily I do have some friends who live in the city where I study, so hopefully their presence will be enough for me to not dwell in my loneliness;
  • I’ll have my stuff in two different places, so that might be an annoyance when I need one thing and I’m at one place and it’s at the other place. I don’t find this too much of a con though, because I think I’ll be able to adjust to this one pretty quickly.

I’m a student only once in my life and there are things that I can only do now. It would be a shame to miss those things just because of the place where I live.

Leave a Reply

